Selesnya Week, Day 1 – Selesnya

The original Ravnica block is my favorite block of all ever since I started to play Magic. It is the block that I have been playing tons of tournaments with. I feel that I am at my strongest when that block came in. I was playing different decks every FNM just because of the versatility of the set of cards at my disposal. And whatever deck I play during the FNM, I can pretty much win 4-0 or 3-1 at worst. I even went into one tournament where I placed 4th amongst all 120-200ish players using a Boros deck. Zoo has been my best deck during that era as well. I like the fact that matches using the Zoo deck would only take me 15-20 minutes to finish and I still have time to look around and watch other players play on other tables. That gave me ideas of how the decks players brought to the tournament worked and would use that advantage when I face other players.

When I heard that Return to Ravnica is actually being printed out, my brains almost exploded. I looked at hundreds of Ravnica cards and speculated what was going to be reprinted. I did not expect a lot of cards being reprinted like Watchwolf, Loxodon Heirarch, Giant Solifuge, Putrefy or Mortify Although, there’s 50% of me saying I hope it will get reprinted in the next set. But what I did expect is that they will reprint the duals. I was expecting it too much that I haven’t even bothered to look at any alternative cards that might replace them if they are not reprinted. And yes, Wizards has decided to reprint them. I am not sure how’d I react if they didn’t but I am just glad they did.

I am way too much excited that the card store nearest me announced they are ready to accept preregistration, I immediately preregistered myself and my friend in two events – Midnight and Noon events. I decided to go for Izzet and Golgari respectively but in the end I decided to play Golgari and Selesnya.

Populate

I am a little bit apprehensive at first of the theme called Populate. I think it will not be as good as Convoke. But I was proven wrong when I chose and played the Selesnya guild. Here’s what my deck looked like in the pre-release:

Selesnya Prerelease deck
Main Deck (40 cards) Sideboard 
1 Jarad, Golgari Lich Lord
1 Wayfaring Temple
1 Trostani, Selesnya’s Voice
1 Towering Indrik
1 Centaur Healer
1 Azorius Arrester
1 Gatecreeper Vine
2 Vitu-Ghazi Guildmage
1 Centaur’s Herald
1 Dyrad Militant
1 Druid’s Deliverance
1 Common Bond
1 Arrest
1 Aerial Predation
1 Soul Tithe
1 Rootborn Defenses
2 Eyes in the Skies
2 Trostani’s Judgment
2 Giant Growth
1 Grove of the Guardian ( Selesnya prerelease card)
2 Selesnya Guildgate
1 Overgrown Tomb
2 Swamp
5 Forest
6 Plains
1 Dramatic Rescue
1 Lyev Skynight
1 Hussar Patrol
1 Paralyzing Grasp
1 Drainpipe Vermin
3 Crosstown Courier
1 Dynacharge
1 Cobblebrute
1 Tenement Crasher
2 Grim Roustabout
2 Tower Drake
1 Sunspire Griffin
1 Tavern Swindler
2 Rakdos Charm
1 Essence Backslash
1 Survey the Wreckage
1 Deviant Glee
1 Rakdos Shred-Freak
2 Dead Reveler
1 Civic Saber
1 Street Sweeper
2 Chemister’s Trick
1 Runewing
1 Izzet Charm
1 Street Spasm
1 Mana Bloom
1 Centaur’s Herald
1 Knightly Valor
1 Sphere of Safety
1 Avenging Arrow
2 Ethereal Armor
1 Savage Surge
2 Search Warrant
1 Tablet of the Guilds
1 Golgari Longlegs
1 Axebane Stag
1 Explosive Impact
1 Rubbleback Rhino
1 Isperia’s Skywatch
1 Ogre Jailbreaker
1 Auger Spree
2 Electrickery
1 Fencing Ace
1 Axebane Stag
1 Rakdos Ringleader
1 Launch Party
1 Dynacharge
1 Perilous Shadow
1 Hypersonic Dragon

I splashed black just because of Jarad. It was so hard to resist the ability of sac’ing a creature and the player loses life for the sac’ed creature’s power. At one game I had to kill my opponent by just sac’ing and 8/8 Elemental to Jarad. It was so much fun. The look on my opponent’s face was so hilarious! He was at 16 lives left and at end of his turn, I triggered Grove of the Guardian tapping a  bird token and Vitu-Ghazi Guildmage hence producing an 8/8 Elemental creature with vigilance which I used to attack on his turn. Down to 8, I sac’ed the token to Jarad. It was so much fun!

Jarad 

And the Selesnya Lord  Trostani rocks! It had a nice 2/5 body that blocks almost all the Izzet creatures. They could be a little tricky though so I keep those Giant Growths as long as I can. The gain life mechanic just blows me away. There was a time that I almost went up to 25 lives after I’ve been bashed down to 5 lives. That was sick!

Gain 1 or 3 o 8? You’re choice as long as you are gaining life. I think I’m liking the Selesnya guild a lot. Did I win in the prerelease? Yes! Although I just won 1 pack. You see in our store, you only get a pack when you win a match. My matches ended in this manner: Draw, Draw, Lose, Win. For the Draw parts, my opponents and I exceeded the time limit so we have to make a dice roll because none of us will ever get a pack if we didn’t. And being that I suck in dice rolls, I basically gave away those matches. It’s ok I think. I had opened an Overgrown tomb, Trostani and Jarad in my box, so I am happy anyways. I think my preregistration fee is just converted to cash. Plus I get a really cool dice:

Overall, I think the Selesnya Guild is probably the most bone breaking deck in Return to Ravnica Prerelease. You can never go wrong with any creatures. And you’ll always end up having tons of creatures even if your deck doesn’t have a lot of them. I ran 11 creatures only and never have I missed a creature in any of my turns tanks to Populate. The guild is really straight forward. Populate and you gain the advantage.

Leave a Reply

